News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

182 Gujarat MLAs take oath of office

File picture of Vijay Rupani. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Jan 23, 2018, 11.33 AM (IST)

The newly elected 182 legislators of the 14th Gujarat assembly took oath as members of the house today. 

The oath-taking ceremony was conducted at a makeshift venue in the Sabarmati Hall of Swarnim Sankul-I building in Gandhinagar, Gujarat. 

The oath of office and secrecy was administered by pro-tem speaker Nimaben Acharya.

Vijay Rupani took oath as the chief minister of Gujarat on December 26 along with 19 ministers in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a galaxy of senior BJP leaders on December 26.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani had said earlier that the ceremony was delayed by the MLAs who wanted to avoid Makar Sankranti which falls on January 14 to avoid the "inauspicious" period.