These 17 territories around the world are still under colonial rule 

WION Web Team
New Delhi  Published: Aug 08, 2021, 06:37 PM(IST)

A world map showing the 17 territories, which are still under colonial rule (Pic Courtesy: United Nations). Photograph:( Others )

Story highlights

As per a UN data, there around 17 non-self-governing territories around the world, where less than two million people still live under colonial rule. The UN has also prepared a list of these territories. The list, which was last updated on September 22, 2020. The list says New Zealand, United Kingdom, France and United States are some of the countries which hold these territories. 

For years during the freedom struggle, India fought valiantly against the British to gain the right to self-government. At the time, several other oppressed people around the world also made numerous sacrifices to see the end of the colonialism. The United Nations (UN) also played a big role in it. But the million-dollar question is that has it ended? Well, the answer is no.  

As per a UN data, there around 17 non-self-governing territories around the world, where less than two million people still live under colonial rule.   

According to the chapter XI of UN charter, the non-self-governing territories are whose people have not yet attained a full measure of self-government.  

The UN has also prepared a list of these territories. The list, which was last updated on September 22, 2020, includes Montserrat, Saint Helena, Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, United States Virgin Islands, Gibraltar, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Turks and Caicos Islands, French Polynesia, American Samoa, Guam, Pitcairn, New Caledonia, Tokelau, etc.  

The list says New Zealand, United Kingdom, France and United States are some of the countries, which hold these territories.  

During the inception of UN, around some 750 million people, which was nearly a third of the world's population, used to live in territories dependent on colonial powers.  

Born with the UN, the wave of decolonisation changed the face of the planet. It is also one of the world body’s biggest successes.  

Due to the decolonisation, around 80 former colonies have gained independence. It also includes all 11 Trust Territories, which achieved self-determination through independence or free association with an independent state.  

As of now, the special committee formed by the world body continues to monitor the situation in the remaining 17 territories. It is working to facilitate their advance towards complete self-determination. 

Read in App