Liverpool's Mohamed Salah wins PFA Player of the Year award

United KingdomUpdated: Apr 23, 2018, 08:03 AM IST

Mo Salah wins PFA Player of the year award. Photograph:(Reuters)

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah won the PFA Player of the Year award as Manchester City's Leroy Sane picked up the young player's award, the PFA announced early on Monday (April 23).

The Egyptian international beat off competition from the likes of Kevin De Bruyne, David De Gea, Harry Kane, Leroy Sane and David Silva for the top award.

Salah, currently with 31 league goals to his name in his debut season, could break the league scoring record for the most goals in a 38-game season (31) while even surpassing the 34-goal record for a 42-game campaign.

Sane, having missed out on the top award, won the young player award ahead of Harry Kane, Ederson Moraes, Marcus Rashford, Ryan Sessegnon and teammate Raheem Sterling.