As it happened | IPL 2019: Hyderabad beat Delhi by 5 wickets

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Apr 04, 2019, 07:05 PM (IST)

Johny Bairstow in action. Photograph: AFP


Hyderabad beat Delhi by 5 wickets. 

Apr 04, 2019, 11:20 PM

It's done and dusted, Hyderabad beat Delhi by five wickets. 

This is Delhi's second defeat in a row and Hyderabad are at the top of points table with six victories in the ongoing edition of IPL 2019. 

Apr 04, 2019, 11:14 PM

Deepak Hooda departs!

Lamichhane to Hooda, catch out by Rabada. 

He scored 10 off 11. 

Next in is Mohammad Nabi. 

Apr 04, 2019, 11:12 PM

Vijay Shankar out!

Axar Patel to Shankar, catch out Delhi's skipper Shreyas Iyer.

Shankar scored 16 off 21. 

Next batsman is Yusuf Pathan. 

Apr 04, 2019, 11:11 PM

Manish Pandey out!

Ishant to Pandey, catch out by Prithvi Shaw.

He scored 10 runs off 15 balls. 

Next batsman is Deepak Hooda. 

Apr 04, 2019, 10:50 PM

Vijay Shankar and Manish Pandey stable Hyderabad. 

After 12 overs, HYD are 90/2. 

Apr 04, 2019, 10:33 PM

David Warner out!

Rabada to Warner, catch out by Chris Morris. 

Warner scored 10 runs off 18 balls. 

Next batsman is Manish Pandey.

Apr 04, 2019, 10:27 PM

Bairstow out!

Rahul Tewatia to Bairstow, lbw out. 

Bairstow scored 48 runs. 

Next batsman is Vijay Shankar. 

Apr 04, 2019, 10:26 PM


Hyderabad vs Delhi

Apr 04, 2019, 10:08 PM

After 3 overs, Hyderabad are 20/0. 

Bairstow is playing at 17 off 11. 

Apr 04, 2019, 09:40 PM

Innings Break!

Hyderabad need 130 to win

Delhi posted 129/8 against Hyderabad in 20 overs. 

Skipper Shreyas Iyer scored maximum, 43 runs, for the team. 

While, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Nabi and Siddarth Kaul were efficient. 

Apr 04, 2019, 09:36 PM

Another wicket!

Rabada out after scoring three runs. 

Next batsman is Ishant Sharma.

Apr 04, 2019, 09:31 PM

Chris Morris departs!

Bhuvi to Morris, catch out by Nabi. 

Morris, who could have salvaged the innings, walks back to pavilion after scoring 17 runs off 15 balls. 

Next batsman is Kagiso Rabada.

Apr 04, 2019, 09:24 PM

Shreyas out!

Hyderabad's Rashid Khan struck to take the sixth wicket of Delhi. After 17 overs, Delhi's score stands at 97.

Despite playing on their home ground, Delhi could not take advantage of it and are losing wickets in quick succession.  

Apr 04, 2019, 09:18 PM

Colin Ingram out!

Delhi suffered another jolt after Colin Ingram was dismissed five runs. he is the third batsmen to be dismissed on 5 runs, apart from Rishabh Pant and Rahul Tewatia. 

Apr 04, 2019, 08:56 PM

Another jolt to Delhi batting unit

Rahul Tewatia out!

Rahul out after scoring five runs off seven balls. Nabi to Tewatia, the balls goes in the covers and Sandeep Sharma catches it. 

Next batsman is Colin Ingram. 

Apr 04, 2019, 08:47 PM

Pant's pack-up

Rishabh pant out after scoring five runs off seven balls. 

Pant's big shot on the long-off was not enough to cross the boundary and he caught out by Deepak Hooda. 

Next batsman is Rahul Tewatia. 

Apr 04, 2019, 08:40 PM

Delhi are 52/2 after nine overs. 

It's time for the strategic time out. 

Apr 04, 2019, 08:25 PM

The first powerplay was dominated by Hyderabad, Delhi started off but Hyderabad was able to get two wickets. 

After six overs, Delhi are 36/2. 

Apr 04, 2019, 08:32 PM

Another wicket goes!

Mohammad Nabi to Dhawan, catch out by Sandeep Sharma. 

Dhawan scored 12 runs of 14 balls. 

Next batsman is Rishabh Pant. 

This is not the kind of start Delhi wanted. 

Apr 04, 2019, 08:22 PM

Shaw's show over!

Bhuvi to Prithvi, out, bowled. 

Bhuvi finally take the first wicket of the season. 

Prithvi scored 11 runs off 11 balls. 

Next batsman is Delhi's skipper Shreyas Iyer. 

Apr 04, 2019, 08:20 PM

Delhi's Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan are at the crease and Bhuvneshwar Kumar launches the bowling attack for Hyderabad. 

Apr 04, 2019, 07:35 PM

Hyderabad won the toss and opt to bowl against Delhi. 

Playing XI:

Hyderabad: Jonny Bairstow(w), David Warner, Vijay Shankar, Yusuf Pathan, Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar(c), Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul

Delhi: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Colin Ingram, Chris Morris, Axar Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane, Ishant Sharma


Apr 04, 2019, 07:26 PM

Watch the preview here:

Delhi vs Hyderabad

Apr 04, 2019, 07:08 PM

Hello everyone, get the live updates of Delhi vs Hyderabad match. 

This is the sixteenth match of Indian Premier League 2019 and the match will be played at Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla stadium. 

Read in App