As it happened | Hockey World Cup 2018: Australia 2-1 Ireland

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Nov 30, 2018, 08:18 PM(IST)

Australia vs Ireland Photograph: Others


Pool B | Australia vs Ireland

Australia vs Ireland - Full Time

Australia's quest for a record hat-trick of titles started with a hard-fought 2-1 win over Ireland in the opening Pool B match of the men's hockey World Cup here on Friday. 

Having won the back-to-back World Cups in 2010 and 2014, world no.1 Australia came into the ongoing tournament as a firm favourite but they were far from impressive and were made to toil hard by Ireland in their opener.

World no. 10 Ireland gave Australia a run for their money with impressive display in both attack and defence. The Kookaburras were dismal with penalty corners, converting just one out of five.

Click here for the complete Schedule, Squad, Time and Venue.

Thanks for joining us.

Click here for latest and exclusive news related to the 14th edition of Men's Hockey World Cup and keep reading the latest happenings in the world of sports only at WION.

Australia vs Ireland - Quarter 4

No goal in the fourth and final quarter.

Australia won their campaign opener 2-1 in a hard-fought battle against Ireland at the Kalinga Sadium.


Final Score: Australia 2-1 Ireland

Australia vs Ireland - Quarter 3

Third quarter has ended.

Australian striker Tim Brand has scored in the 33rd minute to give 2-1 lead.

Soon after that, Trent Mitton made a fantastic save.

There was a chance for Tom Craig but Ireland's goalkeeper Harte blocked his weak shot.

Australia vs Ireland - Quarter 2

End of a goalless quarter, but what a match...

In the first half of the game, Australia had nine shots on target while Ireland had three.

With 56 per cent of possession in opposition's half and 12 circle penetrations, Australia tried to dominate the game but failed to change the score.

Thanks to Ireland's tight defence, the score remained unchanged after the first quarter.

Australia vs Ireland - Quarter 1

It is going to be an intriguing match.

Blake Govers scored which gives Australia 1-0 lead against Ireland.

Shane O'Donoghue netted the equalizer within few minutes. 

Australia vs Ireland - Playing XI

Playing XI

Australia: Daniel Beale, Timothy Brand, Andrew Charter, Blake Govers, Jeremy Hayward, Tim Howard, Trent Mitton, Eddie Ockenden (C), Matthew Swann, Jake Whetton.

Ireland: David Harte, Jonathan Bell, Paul Gleghorne, Conor Harte, Stuart Loughrey, Shane O'Donoghue, Sean Murray, Chris Cargo, Matthew Nelson, Mitch Darling, Eugene Magee.

Australia vs Ireland

On the other hand, Ireland will enter the pitch at the Hockey World Cup for the first time since 1990.

Watch David Fitzgerald speaks ahead of the crucial Pool C game.



Australia vs Ireland

Standing on the cusp of creating history, two-time defending champions Australia, also known as Kookaburras, are keen to put up a good show at the ongoing hockey World Cup.

There is pressure on Australia to become the first hockey playing nation to win a hat-trick of World Cup crowns, but the coach said they are taking it as a challenge.

"The Aussie group has a proud history. We are defending our title here and we are looking it as a challenge. That's our approach,? Batch said.

Australia's last success on Indian soil was when they won the Hockey World League (HWL) Final here last year and Batch said the Kookaburras drew heart from that campaign.

Kookaburras have made 13 World Cup appearances and won the title in 1986, 2010 and 2014.

Australia vs Ireland

Australia will take on Ireland to start their Hockey World Cup campaign. 

Here is the complete squad list:


Head coach: Colin Batch

Squad: Tom Craig, Corey Weyer, Jake Harvie, Matthew Dawson, Eddie Ockenden (C), Jake Whetton, Blake Govers, Tim Howard, Aran Zalewski (C), Matthew Swann, Flynn Ogilvie, Daniel Beale, Tyler Lovell, Trent Mitton, Dylan Wotherspoon, Timothy Brand, Andrew Charter, Jeremy Hayward.


Head coach: Alexander Cox

Squad: David Harte (C), Jonathan Bell, Matthew Bell, Luke Madeley, Chris Cargo, Matthew Nelson, Alan Sothern, Eugene Magee, Kirk Shimmins, Shane O'Donoghue, Sean Murray, Mitch Darling, Michael Robson, David Fitzgerald, Daragh Walsh, Paul Gleghorne, Conor Harte, Jeremy Duncan.

Read in App