Raja Farooq Haider is the new Prime Minister of Pakistan-controlled Kashmir

Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif (in image) nominated Raja Farooq Haider, the Prime Minister of Pakistan-controlled Kashmir. Photograph:( Getty )

PTI New Delhi, Delhi, India Jul 28, 2016, 06.08 AM (IST)
Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif nominated Raja Farooq Haider as the Prime Minister of Pakistan-controlled Kashmir, the Express Tribune reported.

The ruling party Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) swept the Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly elections, bagging 30 of 41 directly elected seats, with a two-third majority to form the new government.

Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) emerged victorious in the Assembly elections in which a total of 26 political parties and 423 candidates took part.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) which had the last government could only manage to win two seats while cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khans Pakistan Tahreek-i-Insaf (PTI) got as much seats and Muslim Conference bagged three.

It was expected that there would be a stiff competition between the three mainstream parties Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N), PPP and PTI - but the PML-N routed them, stunning the political pundits.

A total of 2.674 million Kashmiris exercised their right to franchise to elect members for the AJK Legislative Assembly, which will be the ninth since the parliamentary form of government was introduced in Pakistan-controlled Jammu and Kashmir in 1975.

While the region is spread over 14,245 square kilometres, the polling process is not restricted to this area. Instead, it stretches to entire Pakistan because members for 12 out of the 41 directly elected seats are elected by 438,884 voters living in various parts of the country.

Some 12 are reserved for refugees from Indian-controlled Kashmir in Pakistan.

( PTI)