UP bypolls: Re-polling to take place at 73 booths in Kairana

WION Web Team
Kairana, Uttar Pradesh, India Published: May 29, 2018, 06:34 PM(IST)

BJP MLA Suresh Rana, 4th from right, waits in a queue to cast his votes for Kairana parliamentary constituency bypolls, in Shamli on Monday, May 28, 2018. Photograph:( PTI )

73 polling stations in Uttar Pradesh's Kairana Lok Sabha constituency will see repolling on Wednesday, the Election Commission has said.

Repolling will be held on May 30 between 7 am and 5 pm, during which 80,000 voters are likely to exercise their franchise.

Repolling will be held in 23 polling stations at Nakur, 44 in Gangoh and one at Thana Bhawan in Saharanpur and five in Shamli.

"Brawl took place at one spot yesterday & police had taken action. We will ensure that any untoward incident doesn't take place during re-polling tomorrow," said  Praveen Kumar, Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG) Law and Order.

A total of 54 per cent polling was recorded on Monday in Kairana seat, which fell vacant with the death of Bharatiya Janata Party MP Hukum Singh. In 2014, 73 per cent voting was recorded.

Read in App