Syed Ali Geelani quits as Tehreek-e-Hurriyat chairman

WION Web Team
Delhi, India Published: Mar 19, 2018, 10:05 AM(IST)

Syed Ali Shah Geelani. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Tehreek-e-Hurriyat's chairman, Syed Ali Geelani, stepped down from his role on Monday. Senior Hurriyat leader Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai will take up succeed Geelani as the Chairman.

According to reports, Geelani will continue to serve as the chairman of the separatist All Party Hurriyat Conference. 

"The Tehreek-e-Hurriyat led by Syed Ali Geelani today held a meeting at its office in Srinagar and elected senior member Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai as the party chairman," said a spokesperson.

Geelani was an MLA from the Sopore constituency of Jammu and Kashmir in the years 1972, 1977 and 1987.

Tehreek-e-Hurriyat, a constituent of the Geelani-led Hurriyat group, was formed in August 2004 after a split in the Jamaat-e-Islami.

Read in App