BJP MLAs to meet Friday to choose next Gujarat CM

India Published: Dec 21, 2017, 05:08 PM(IST)

Rupani is a frontrunner for the chief minister's post. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Newly elected BJP MLAs of Gujarat will meet in Gandhinagar tomorrow to choose the next chief minister, a top party official said today.

The BJP legislature party will meet to elect its leader in the presence of central observers for the exercise, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and party general secretary Saroj Pandey, the party's state chief Jitu Vaghani told reporters here.

State BJP incharge Bhupender Yadav and co-incharge V Satish would also attend the meeting at party headquarters 'Kamalam' tomorrow afternoon.

Who will be the next Gujarat Chief Minister? Here are the top contenders

"All the MLAs along with party observers and in-charge leaders would meet tomorrow to select the leader of the ruling party (chief minister). All the MLAs have been intimated to remain present in tomorrow's meeting," Vaghani said.

Earlier today, Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and members of his council of ministers resigned. Rupani, a front-runner for the chief minister's post, has been asked to continue as caretaker chief minister till a new government is sworn in.

Governor O P Kohli had dissolved the Assembly yesterday following the declaration of election results.

In the recently concluded polls, BJP retained power by winning 99 seats in the 182-member Assembly, while the Congress bagged 77. Six seats were won by others. 

Read in App