News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

ASEAN countries' leaders to be chief guests on Republic Day 2018: PM Modi in 'Mann Ki Baat'

2017 has been special as ASEAN completed its 50 years of formation and this year only 25 years of India's partnership with ASEAN were completed. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Zee News Network New Delhi, Delhi, India Dec 31, 2017, 07.23 AM (IST)

Addressing the nation through the last "Maan ki Baat" episode of 2017, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday informed that this year's Republic Day will be celebrated with leaders of all ten ASEAN countries coming to India as chief guests.

The prime minister said that January 26, 2018, will be remembered through the ages as this is the first time in India's history when so many leaders will grace the celebrations.  


The ASEAN countries include Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos and Brunei.

The year 2017 has been special for both India and ASEAN which completed 50 years since its formation in 1967. India completed 25 years of its partnership with ASEAN this year.

PM Modi, who was addressing the 39th edition of his monthly radio programme, also shared his vision for New India and stated that it is where everyone gets opportunities to flourish and where the aspirations of all are fulfilled.

The prime minister also extended his greetings for New Year.