18 MLAs backing Dinakaran disqualified by Tamil Nadu Speaker

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: Sep 18, 2017, 07:06 AM IST

File photo of AMMK leader TTV Dhinakaran. Photograph:(PTI)

The 18 MLAs backing TTV Dhinakaran have been disqualified by Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal. 

The MLAs were disqualified under the 1986 Tamil Nadu Assembly Members party defection law.


The decision was immediately challenged by the Dinakaran camp, which said it would take it to court. 

But the disqualification of the 18 MLAs means it should be slightly easier for the E Palaniswami-led AIADMK government to pass the high court-ordered floor test on September 20.