World to witness last solar eclipse of 2018 today

WION Web Team
India Published: Aug 11, 2018, 03:35 PM(IST)

File photo. Photograph:( ANI )

After witnessing the longest lunar eclipse of the century on July 27, the world will now see a partial solar eclipse today.

The solar eclipse or the Surya Grahan will be seen in select parts of the world on Saturday.

This will be the last time in 2018 when people will have a chance to see the solar eclipse.

The eclipse will only be seen in some parts of the world and will not be visible to the people in India.

According to NASA, the visibility of this solar eclipse will be limited to northern Canada, north-eastern US, most of Siberia, Greenland, Scandinavia and some parts of central Asia including China. 

The duration of the eclipse will be over three hours.

The partial solar eclipse will begin at around 9.02 am GMT or 1.32 pm IST and will last till 12.32 pm GMT or 5.02 pm IST.

 

Read in App