As it happened | Mumbai vs Punjab, IPL 2019: KL Rahul, Gayle shine as Punjab beat Mumbai by 8 wickets

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 30, 2019, 03.34 PM (IST)

Mayank Agarwal (L) and KL Rahul (R). Photograph: AFP

Mar 30, 2019, 07.07 PM

Mayank Agarwal out!

Krunal Pandya to Mayank Agarwal, caught and bowled.

Mayank scored 43 off 21. 

Next batsman is David Miller. 

Mar 30, 2019, 06.39 PM

Krunal Pandya gets breakthough!

Chris Gayle out after scoring 40 runs off 24 balls. 

In his innings against Mumbai, Gayle became the first batsman in Indian Premier League (IPL) history to score 300 sixes. 

Next batsman is Mayank Agarwal.

Mar 30, 2019, 06.28 PM

Chris Gayle has given Punjab a stable start while chasing a 177-run target against Mumbai. 

KL Rahul is playing at 10 (16) runs and Chris Gayle is playing at 28 (20). 

Its time for the strategic time out. 

Mar 30, 2019, 06.00 PM

Punjab openers KL Rahul and Chris Gayle come at the crease. 

Mumbai's pacer Mitchell McClenaghan launches bowling attack. 

Mar 30, 2019, 05.44 PM

Batting first, Mumbai post 176/7 against Punjab in the Match 9 of Indian Premier League 2019 at the IS Bindra Stadium today. 


Mumbai vs Punjab

Mar 30, 2019, 05.36 PM

Another wicket goes

Hardus Viljoen to Krunal Pandya, carch out by Murugan Ashwin.

Krunal scored 10 runs off five balls. 

Next batsman is Mitchell McClenaghan. 

Mar 30, 2019, 05.27 PM

Pollard out!

Andrew Tye to Pollard, catch out by Mayank Agarwal. 

Pollard scored 7 runs off 9 balls. 

Next in is Krunal Pandya.

Mar 30, 2019, 05.11 PM

Big wicket for Punjab, Yuvraj Singh out!

Murugan Ashwin to Yuvraj, catch out by Shami. 

Yuvi scored 18 runs off 22 balls. 

Next batsman is Hardik Pandya. 

Mar 30, 2019, 05.05 PM

de Kock walks back after a superb innings!

Mohammed Shami to de Kock, lbw. 

The original decision was not out which was reviewed by the Punjab and the Hawkeye show three red lights 60 runs off 39 balls. 

Next batsman is Kieron Pollard. 

Mar 30, 2019, 04.55 PM

Quinton hits half-century!

Quinton de Kock brings up his fifty for Mumbai. 

The opener is playing at 53 runs. 

Mumbai are 110/2 after 12 overs. 

It's his seventh half-century of IPL. 


Punjab vs Mumbai

Mar 30, 2019, 04.35 PM

Come and gone...Suryakumar Yadav departs!

Murugan Ashwin to Suryakumar, lbw. 

Yadav walks back to pavilion after scoring 11 runs. 

Next batsman is Yuvraj Singh. 

Mar 30, 2019, 04.33 PM

Rohit Sharma out!

Hardus Viljoen to Rohit, lbw. 

Rohit scored 32 off 18 balls. 

Next batsman is Suryakumar Yadav.

Rohit could have reviewed the on-field umpire's call as, after replays, the hawk eye shows missing leg. 

Mar 30, 2019, 04.31 PM

After five overs, Mumbai are 50/0. 

Mar 30, 2019, 04.14 PM

Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock open for Mumbai and team is 24/0 after 3 overs. 

Mar 30, 2019, 03.52 PM

Watch the preview here: 

Punjab vs Mumbai

Mar 30, 2019, 03.51 PM

What the captains say:

Rohit Sharma: "We need to play good cricket. We were able to win our last game due to the bowling we had and it's about putting enough runs on the board for them."

Ashwin: "We want to make conditions in the daylight and make use of the easier batting conditions later on when there could be some grease."

Mar 30, 2019, 03.49 PM

Ashwin will now look to forget all these unsavoury happenings of the first two games and start afresh. 

In the first match,  Punjab endured a controversy involving their captain Ashwin who 'Mankaded' Rajasthan batsman Jos Buttler. The act which was legal but criticised by some as against the 'Spirit of Cricket'. 

In their second game against Kolkata, Ashwin's team was penalised for not keeping four men in the 30-yard circle and Andre Russell made full use of the reprieve to take the game away from Punjab.

Ashwin playing at home turf will definitely a player to watch out for.

Mar 30, 2019, 03.45 PM

Ashwin won the toss and opted to bowl first against Mumbai. Ashwin will look to take advantage of home conditions. 

Playing XI: 

Mumbai: Quinton de Kock(w), Rohit Sharma(c), Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

Punjab: Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, Hardus Viljoen, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Andrew Tye

Mar 30, 2019, 03.36 PM

Hello and welcome to the Match 9 of Indian Premier League 2019. Get live updates from the IS Bindra Stadium. 

R Ashwin-led Punjab will take on Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai.