INDvsNZ, 3rd T20: New Zealand win by 4 runs, clinch series

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Feb 10, 2019, 12.08 PM (IST)

India's Shikhar Dhawan (C) walks off after being dismissed during the 3rd T20 against New Zealand. Photograph: AFP

Feb 10, 2019, 04.03 PM

New Zealand beat India by four runs in third T20, take series

Feb 10, 2019, 03.39 PM


India vs New Zealand, 3rd T20

Feb 10, 2019, 03.33 PM

Daryl Mitchell takes another. 

Dhoni out after scoring 2 runs. 

After 16 overs, India are 154/6. 

Need 59 runs in 24 balls

Feb 10, 2019, 03.30 PM

Hardik Pandya goes back!

Pandya scored 21 off 11 balls. 

India are 145/5 after 15 overs. 

Feb 10, 2019, 03.28 PM

India in deep, deep trouble. 

Daryl Mitchell to Rohit, catch out by wicketkeeper Seifert. 

Rohit scored 38 runs. 

Feb 10, 2019, 03.20 PM

Rishabh Pant out!

Blair Tickner takes his first T20I wicket. 

Pant departs after terrific innings. He scored 28 off 12 balls. 

India are 128/3 after 13 overs. 

Feb 10, 2019, 03.04 PM

After 10 overs, India are 108/2

Rishabh Pant 23(6)
Rohit Sharma 29(22)

Feb 10, 2019, 03.03 PM

Vijay Shankar out!

Santner to Shankar, catch out by de Grandhomme. 

Shankar departs after scoring 43 runs. 

Rishabh Pant comes to the crease.

Feb 10, 2019, 02.46 PM

India are at 49/1 after 5 overs. 

Rohit Sharma 22(14)
Vijay Shankar 24(18)

Feb 10, 2019, 02.24 PM

New Zealand get an early breakthrough!

Shikhar Dhawan departs after scoring 5 runs. 

Mitchell Santner to Dhawan, catch out by Daryl Mitchell. 

Mitchell takes a good catch at the deep mid-wicket. 

Feb 10, 2019, 02.18 PM

Indian openers, Rohit Sharma and Dhawan, come at the crease. 

Feb 10, 2019, 02.16 PM


India vs New Zealand, 3rd T20

Feb 10, 2019, 02.13 PM

Colin Munro shrugged off a string of low scores to plunder a rapid 72 as New Zealand posted 212 for four in Sunday's series-deciding final Twenty20 against India in Hamilton.

The New Zealand opener had averaged less than 20 in the previous four one-day internationals and two Twenty20s of the series.

But with the Twenty20s locked at one-all he found his touch with five fours and fives sixes in his 72 off 40 deliveries.

With Tim Seifert cracking 43 off 25, the pair put on 80 for the first wicket.

Colin de Grandhomme chimed in with 30 off 16 to ensure New Zealand passed the 200 mark.

Feb 10, 2019, 02.02 PM

Bhuvi takes de Grandhomme's wicket!

Bhuvneshwar to de Grandhomme, catch by MS Dhoni. 

Grandhomme scored 30 off 16. 

New Zealand are 200/4 after 19 overs. 

Khaleel will bowl the last over. 

Feb 10, 2019, 01.45 PM

Kane Williamson out!

Williamson scored 27 off 21. 

New Zealand are at 151/3 after 15 overs. 

Feb 10, 2019, 01.43 PM

Kuldeep gets another!

Yadav to Colin Munro, catch out by Hardik Pandya. 

Munro departs after scoring 76 off 40

In the previous over, Khaleel Ahmed dropped a catch, Vijay Shankar was sloppy at the boundary and Kuldeep Yadav missed another catch. 

Now the team can relax for the moment. 

New Zealand 140/2 after 14 overs. 

Feb 10, 2019, 01.23 PM

Kuldeep Yadav gets a breakthrough as he takes Tim Seifert's wicket. 

Yadav to Seifert, stumped by MS Dhoni. 

On-field umpires referred to third umpire and the final signal is out. 

Seifert 43 (25)

Feb 10, 2019, 12.58 PM

After 5 overs

New Zealand are at 46/0. 

Munro 18(13)
Seifert 27(17)

Spinner Krunal Pandya comes into attack. 

Feb 10, 2019, 12.36 PM

Khaleel Ahmed bowls from the other end. 

Feb 10, 2019, 12.32 PM

Done with the national anthems, New Zealand openers, Tim Seifert, Colin Munro, come at the crease. 

And for India, pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar opens the bowling attack. 


Feb 10, 2019, 12.30 PM

The last time the two teams met in Hamilton saw New Zealand's sole win in the one-day international series.

But India captain Rohit Sharma, who won the toss, said they had put the loss behind them and would defy the convention of batting first in a decider.

"We did not have a good result the last time we played here," he said.

"When it's a big game like a decider you always want to put runs on the board but the combination we play with allows us to chase because we bat very deep."

India go into this match with the series locked at 1-1, after earlier whipping New Zealand 4-1 in the one-day internationals.

It followed a 2-1 ODI series win in Australia and India's first ever Test series win in Australia.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson, chasing a morale-boosting series win, said his side would have preferred to bowl first as well.

"It is what it is. We would have had a bowl but it looks like a pretty good surface so it's important we do the job first up," captain Kane Williamson said.

Sharma, who has hit 102 sixes in T20 internationals, needs one more to equal the record of 103 jointly held by the West Indies' Chris Gayle and New Zealand's Martin Guptill. 

Feb 10, 2019, 12.14 PM


India vs New Zealand, 3rd T20

Feb 10, 2019, 12.09 PM

Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bowl in the series-deciding third T20 International against New Zealand on Sunday.

India made one change with Kuldeep Yadav coming in for Yuzvendra Chahal. 

New Zealand also made one change with Blair Tickner replacing Lockie Ferguson. 

Playing XI:

New Zealand: Tim Seifert(w), Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed