As it happened| IPL 2019: Punjab beat Rajasthan by 14 runs

Kings XI Punjab Photograph: AFP

WION Web Team Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Jawaharlal Nehru Marg, Feroze Shah Kotla, Raj Ghat, New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 25, 2019, 07.34 PM (IST)

Mar 25, 2019, 11.38 PM

Punjab wins!

Punjab defeated Rajasthan by 14 runs to win their campaign opener. It was Buttler's mankaded dismissal that changed the game for Rajasthan as wickets kept falling after that.

Buttler was dismissed by Punjab skipper R Ashwin.


Mar 25, 2019, 11.25 PM

Punjab took quick wickets to slow the chasing speed of Rajasthan. However, Jos Buttler's dismissal was the turning point for the hosts. 


Mar 25, 2019, 11.16 PM

Steve Smith failed to create any big impact and departed for 19. he was caught out while trying to hit a six. 

The catch by KL Rahul is said to be the "season of the catch".   

Minutes later, Sanju Samson departed for 30.  

Mar 25, 2019, 11.05 PM

Rajasthan: 135/2 after 15 overs 

Steve Smith is on crease along with Sanju Samson to establish a partnership and take Rajasthan to victory. 

Mar 25, 2019, 10.51 PM

Whew! There's an appeal for mankading here. Jos Buttler is the man in question.

Ashwin is having a heated argument with Buttler and on replays he's clearly out of the crease and guess what! He's been given out.

Mar 25, 2019, 10.48 PM

Rajasthan have crossed the 100 digit mark as the side starts to taste victory. Buttler is going strong for the side and they need over 70 runs to win their campaign opener. 

Mar 25, 2019, 10.37 PM

Punjab drew the first blood as Ajinkya Rahane departed after making 27 runs. Rahane was going strong with Joss Buttler and had established a partnership of 78 runs.

Rahane played an a strike rate of 135 which included four boundaries. 

Mar 25, 2019, 10.24 PM

Six overs have been bowled and Rajasthan's score has already reached 65. Buttler is on the verge of registering his first half century of the 12 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). 

Mar 25, 2019, 10.17 PM

Ajinkya Rahane and Jos Buttler gave Rajasthan the required start as the team chases 185 runs target.



Mar 25, 2019, 09.44 PM

Sarfaraz Khan played a crucial inning and slammed 46 runs in just 29 balls to power Punjab to massive 184 runs. 

The batsman played some stunning shots to lift the inning. 


Earlier, Chris Gayle smashed 79 runs in just 47 balls. 

Mar 25, 2019, 09.39 PM

Sarfaraz Khan is on fire. This is the last over for Punjab's innings to end. 

Mar 25, 2019, 09.32 PM

Sarfaraz Khan and Nicholas Pooran are on crease and are going strong. Punjab have crossed 160 and with 10 balls remaining the side can easily set a good target.


Mar 25, 2019, 09.17 PM

Punjab's hurricane Chris Gayle was dismissed for 79 runs. The Universal boss smashed eight boundaries and four sixes  in his 47-ball innings.



Mar 25, 2019, 09.06 PM

Punjab: 115/2 after 14 overs

Six more overs are left and if Chris Gayle continued playing like this the score might reach over 180. 

Mar 25, 2019, 08.58 PM

Punjab: 94/2 after 12 overs

Universal boss smashed a brilliant half century to bring Punjab back in the game. 



Mar 25, 2019, 08.26 PM

Punjab have kind of recovered for the loss of KL Rahul. With Chris Gayle and Mayanak Agarwal on crease, Punjab is easily tackling the Rajasthan attack. 



Mar 25, 2019, 08.06 PM

Punjab lose Opener KL Rahul early. the batsman fell to a brilliant wicket keeping of Jos Buttler.

Buttler dived full-stretch to his right to grab a fantastic catch.

Mar 25, 2019, 07.45 PM

It's all about staying in the moment and following the process, said Ajinkya Rahane after the toss. 


Rajasthan (Playing XI): Ajinkya Rahane(c), Jos Buttler(w), Steven Smith, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson, Krishnappa Gowtham, Rahul Tripathi, Shreyas Gopal, Jofra Archer, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni

Punjab (Playing XI): Chris Gayle, Lokesh Rahul(w), Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, Nicholas Pooran, Mandeep Singh, Sam Curran, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Ankit Rajpoot

Mar 25, 2019, 07.43 PM

Here's the WION preview of the big clash 

For Rajasthan it will be Steve Smith, while for Punjab it will be Chris Gayle.   

Mar 25, 2019, 07.35 PM

Hello everyone,

Welcome to the live updates of  Rajasthan vs Punjab. 

Ajinkya Rahane-led side have won the toss and have opted to bowl.