As it happened | IPL 2019: Kolkata beat Punjab by 28 runs

WION Web Team Bengaluru, Karnataka, India Mar 27, 2019, 07.12 PM (IST)

David Miller in action against Kolkata Photograph: PTI

Mar 27, 2019, 11.43 PM

That's all for today. Stay tuned for more live updates. 

Good night!

Mar 27, 2019, 11.42 PM

Kolkata have defeated Punjab by 28 runs to register their second victory of IPL 2019. 

The Knight Riders were able to restrict KIngs at 190 for the loss of four wickets. 

Despite half centuries by David Miller and Mayank Agarwal, Punjab lost the game.


For Kolkata it ws Andre Russell who took the game to a next level, thanks to his 17-ball 48 figures. 

Mar 27, 2019, 11.36 PM

The match is over now for Punjab. They would face the first defeat of the 12th edition. 

Mar 27, 2019, 11.13 PM

Mayank agarwal reached his fifty to make sure Punjab stay alive in the game. 

The batsman, however, was dismissed minutes later by Piyush Chawla. 

He was sent back to the pavilion for 58 which came in just 34 balls.


R Ashwin is on crease now with David Miller

Mar 27, 2019, 10.59 PM

Punjab: 116/3 after 13 overs

Mayank Agarwal and David Miller are hitting some big shots to keep the fight alive against Kolkata. The side needs over 100 runs in seven overs now. Almost impossible but in cricket things can change in seconds

Mar 27, 2019, 10.28 PM

Punjab: 48/2 after 5.3 overs

A little pause in play. The crowd has also found its voice. There is something that has ooccured which we aren't aware of. Overthrow is it? The on-field umpires have got together. Karthik looks animated. Uthappa and few others have gathered around the umpires. Ashwin is along the boundary line trying to figure out what happened. The umpire has signalled it a four. But Sarfaraz Khan is still on strike. 

Mar 27, 2019, 10.18 PM

A Russell dismissed Punjab's run machine Chris Gayle to continue Kolkata's dominance. 

Punjab have lost both their openers now with KL Rahul being dismissed for one run. 

Mar 27, 2019, 10.04 PM

KL Rahul departed early in Punjab's massive 219 run-chase. Rahul lost his wicket while trying bto hit a shot. 



Mar 27, 2019, 09.45 PM

Andre Russell's 17-ball cameo powered Kolkata to massive 218 runs. Russell, who was called back after he was dismissed by Shami which eventually was declared a no ball, made 48 runs which included three boundaries and five sixes.


Earlier, Robin Uthappa and Nitish Rana had produced a similar inning to deplete Punjab's bowling attack. 

Mar 27, 2019, 09.36 PM

It's Andre Russell all over Eden

The Giant batsman is hitting every ball out of the boundary line. And Punjab bowlers are confused and don't know how to stop him.



Mar 27, 2019, 09.09 PM

Nitish Rana departs are a thunderous inning. The Southpaw slammed 63 runs in just 33 balls.

His inning included two boundaries and seven huge sixes. 



Mar 27, 2019, 09.04 PM

Nitish Rana is on a roll for Kolkata. He is unstoppable. The left-handed batsman is hitting every ball for a boundary and is succeeding it. 


Kolkata have already reached the core of 140 and still there are seven overs left. 

Robin on the other hand is inching closer to his fifty mark. 

Mar 27, 2019, 08.40 PM

Robin Uthappa and Nitish Rana are giving Punjab a hard time as the two batsmen are playing superb innings. 

The two have kept the momentum going and seem to be unstoppable. 

Mar 27, 2019, 08.30 PM

Six overs have been bowled and Kolkata's score stands at 53 runs at the loss of two wickets. 

Punjab's Varun Chakravarthy conceded 25 runs in his debut over in IPL

Mar 27, 2019, 08.16 PM

Punjab drew the first blood as the Shami dismissed Kolkata opener Chris Lynn.

Lynn along with Sunil Narine was hitting hard but the opener lost his wicket while trying to hit a big shot.


Minutes later, Narine also was dismissed for 24. 

Mar 27, 2019, 07.50 PM


Sunil Narine might open the innings tonight. But who will be at the other end is still a question.

Mar 27, 2019, 07.45 PM


Punjab (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, Hardus Viljoen, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Varun Chakravarthy, Mohammed Shami, Andrew Tye

Kolkata (Playing XI): Chris Lynn, Nitish Rana, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Prasidh Krishna


Mar 27, 2019, 07.38 PM

After Toss

Speaking after the toss, Ashwin said We are looking forward for another great contest today. We'll bowl first. It might do a little bit upfront and probably flatten out with dew coming on. We have made quite a bit of changes. David Miller is getting back into the side. Hardus Viljoen comes in for Sam Curran. Varun Chakravarthy makes his debut.

On the other hand, Kolkata skipper Dinesh Karthik said, "It's always a happy occasion playing here in Kolkata. We'd have bowled first as well. We are sticking with the same XI that played the first game."


Mar 27, 2019, 07.35 PM

Hello everyone!

Welcome to the live updates of Punjab vs Kolkata game. Punjab skipper R Ashwin have won the toss and have opted to field. 

Punjab's campaign opener against Rajasthan was full of controversy after the skipper had mankaded Jos Buttler at a very crucial moment. 

Here's the preview of the clash

IPL 2019: Ravichandran Ashwin-led Punjab to face Dinesh Karthik-led Kolkata at Eden Gardens