IPL auction 2018: All eyes on marquee players

WION Web Team
Bangalore, Karnataka, India Updated: Feb 12, 2018, 11:56 AM(IST)

Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir with 14 others have been categorised as marquee players in the 11th edition of IPL. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

The IPL 2018 auction will take place in Bengaluru on January 27 and 28 where a total of 578 players will go under the hammer with 282 overseas players.

The 11th edition of IPL will see many new faces and also the flow of money has increased but some old champions are still the favourites.

There are 16 players awarded marquee status and those are: Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Benjamin Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Christopher Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Ajinkya Rahane, Dwayne Bravo, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Kane Williamson, Faf Du Plessis, Joe Root, Shakib Al Hasan and Yuvraj Singh.

Ben Stokes was the most expensive bid in the last edition of IPL and even this year, he is eying big money.

Though Glenn Maxwell was axed from Australia's squad for the one-day international (ODI) series against England but he is definitely among most favourites.

Also see the complete list of players and their base price.

Virat most expensive player in IPL history, KKR ignore Gambhir

IPL retention: CSK returns with Dhoni, RCB retains Virat

Meet Manzoor Ahmad Dar, J&K star cricketer eyeing IPL 2018 contract

Ahead of IPL XI auction, Joe Root pulls out of England's T20 tri-series

IPL 2018: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina retained by Chennai Super Kings


List of marquee players with their base price

A fierce bidding war is expected as Indian stars Gautam Gambhir, off-spinners Ravichandran Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh and Ajinkya Rahane will be on the franchises’ radar.

Glenn Maxwell                     All-Rounder               ₹2,00,00,000
Benjamin Stokes                 All-Rounder                ₹2,00,00,000
Yuvraj Singh                        All-Rounder                ₹2,00,00,000
Mitchell Starc                       Bowler                       ₹2,00,00,000
Ravichandran Ashwin         All-Rounder               ₹2,00,00,000
Shikhar Dhawan                  Batsman                    ₹2,00,00,000
Christopher Gayle                Batsman                   ₹2,00,00,000
Kieron Pollard                     All-Rounder              ₹2,00,00,000
Ajinkya Rahane                   Batsman                   ₹2,00,00,000
Dwayne Bravo                     All-Rounder              ₹2,00,00,000
Gautam Gambhir                 Batsman                  ₹2,00,00,000
Harbhajan Singh                  Bowler                     ₹2,00,00,000
Kane Williamson                  Batsman                  ₹1,50,00,000
Faf Du Plessis                      Batsman                 ₹1,50,00,000
Joe Root                               Batsman                 ₹1,50,00,000
Shakib Al Hasan                   All-Rounder             ₹1,00,00,000


Read in App