Ind vs Eng: England 285-9 against India at first-day stumps in 1st Test

Birmingham, UK Published: Aug 01, 2018, 11:38 PM(IST)

India made a stunning comeback on day one by reducing England to 285/9 at stumps. Photograph:( Reuters )

Birmingham, United Kingdom

England were 285 for nine after winning the toss at stumps on the first day of the first Test against India at Edgbaston on Wednesday.

Joe Root, the England captain, made 80 before his run out sparked a collapse that saw the hosts lose three wickets for eight runs in 25 balls in what is their 1,000th Test match. 

At stumps, Sam Curran was 24 not out and James Anderson unbeaten on nought.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin took four wickets for 60 runs in 25 overs while paceman Mohammed Shami had two for 64 in 19.

This is the first of a five-match series.

Scoreboard at stumps on the first day of the first Test between England and India at Edgbaston on Wednesday:

England 1st Innings

A. Cook b Ashwin                          13

K. Jennings b Shami                       42

J. Root run out (Kohli)                   80

D. Malan lbw b Shami                       8

J. Bairstow b Yadav                       70

B. Stokes c and b Ashwin                  21

J. Buttler lbw b Ashwin                    0

S. Curran not out                         24

A. Rashid lbw b Sharma                    13

S. Broad lbw b Ashwin                      1

J. Anderson not out                        0

Extras (b9, lb4)                          13

Total (9 wickets, 88 overs, 393 mins)       285

Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Cook), 2-98 (Jennings), 3-112 (Malan), 4-216 (Root), 5-223 (Bairstow), 6-224 (Buttler), 7-243 (Stokes), 8-278 (Rashid), 9-283 (Broad)

Bowling: Yadav 17-2-56-1 Sharma 17-1-46-1 Ashwin 25-7-60-4 Shami 19-2-64-2 Pandya 10-1-46-0

India: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik (wkt), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma

Toss: England

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read in App