Asia Cup 2018: India to clash with Pakistan on September 19

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: Jul 24, 2018, 11:46 PM IST

A file photo of Indian cricket team - defending champions. Photograph:(Twitter)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has released the schedule for 2018 Asia Cup with defending champions India scheduled to face arch-rivals Pakistan on September 19 in Dubai.

The Asian countries will consider 2018 Asia Cup as a warm-up for the ICC World Cup 2019, which will be staged in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14.

India will start their campaign on September 18, therefore, will play two one-day internationals matches on consecutive days.

Bangladesh will clash with Sri Lanka in the opening game of the biennial tournament which will kick off from September 15.

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are all confirmed participants, with the remaining spot still up for grabs amongst UAE, Singapore, Oman, Nepal, Malaysia and Hong Kong.

Group A consists of India, Pakistan and the qualifier while Group B comprises Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. 

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 4 and two teams will then play the final on September 28 in Dubai.

Here is the full schedule:

Group stage:

15 September - Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Dubai)
16 September - Pakistan vs Qualifier (Dubai)
17 September - Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)
18 September - India vs Qualifier (Dubai)
19 September - India vs Pakistan (Dubai)
20 September - Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Super Four:

21 September - Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Dubai)
21 September - Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)
23 September - Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Dubai)
23 September - Group B Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)
25 September - Group A Winner vs Group B Winner (Dubai)
26 September - Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)