New Pakistan PM: Lawmakers elect Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as interim prime minister

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Aug 01, 2017, 02:02 PM(IST)

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi. Photograph:( Facebook )

The National Assembly of Pakistan on Tuesday picked Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as the country's 18th prime minister, replacing Nawaz Sharif, who was ousted last week over corruption allegations, Pakistani media reported.

Abbasi won the elections with 221 votes.

The session of the National Assembly to elect the new prime minister was summoned by President Mamnoon Hussain at 3:00 pm on Tuesday.

Pakistan’s ruling Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) had nominated Shahid Khaqan Abbasi to serve as the interim minister.

Abbasi will serve as the interim prime minister until Shahbaz Sharif, Nawaz Sharif’s brother, can take over. PML-N holds a majority of 188 seats in 342-member National Assembly and Abbasi was expected to win. 

Also read: Nawaz Sharif names brother Shahbaz as successor, nominates Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as interim PM. Shahbaz Sharif is the chief minister of Punjab. He must be elected to the National Assembly before becoming the new prime minister.
Opposition parties had also nominated candidates.The Pakistan People's Party (PPP) nominated Khursheed Shah and Naveed Qamar. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had fielded Sheikh Rashid as a nominee.

Meanwhile, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan and the Jamaat-e-Islami had named Kishwar Zehra and Sahibzada Tariqullah respectively for the post.

On July 28, the Supreme Court of  Pakistan disqualified Nawaz Sharif from office in a landmark ruling after a damaging corruption probe into his family wealth.

No Pakistani Prime Minister has completed a full five-year term in 70 years. Also read: Pakistan's Supreme Court disqualifies PM Nawaz Sharif from office

Read in App