In Pics: Who is likely to become chief minister of Karnataka?

 | Updated: May 14, 2018, 07:45 PM IST
The Karnataka elections will see Siddaramaiah, Yedyyurappa and JD(S) leader Kumaraswamy in a close race to take the top spot.

Siddaramaiah, Chief Minister of Karnataka

Siddaramaiah has been the Karnataka chief minister since 2013.

The Congress leader is hotly tipped to be the next CM, however, his fate will be decided on 15th morning.

He is likely to win his old seat of Chamundeshwari but faces a very tough fight against BJP's tribal leader B Sriramulu as he enjoys a huge support from the tribal community.

Also for the JD(S) candidate G T Devegowda, a Congress leader said, ''The JD(S) candidate G T Devegowda is very popular among the Vokkaligas here. They won't all vote for him, but a substantial percentage will. Unlike other JD(S) MLAs, he has done work here and enjoys support from Dalits".

BS Yeddyurappa, ex-chief minister of Karnataka.

BJP's chief ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa is very confident of the victory from Shikaripura constituency (Shimoga district).

In Shimoga district, Shikaripura is dominated by the Lingayat community to which Yeddyurappa belongs.

In one of his campaign trail in Karnataka, he said that he is entrusting the constituency to his supporters while he campaigns for BJP across Karnataka.

He also added, ''There is no problem for me in Shikaripura. I will win by 40,000 - 50,000 votes. I will go there whenever I get some free time from campaigning in other parts of the state."
(Photograph:Zee News Network)

HD Kumaraswamy, former Karnataka CM

File photo of HD Kumaraswamy.
(Photograph:Zee News Network)

Karnataka assembly elections 2018

The high-voltage campaign for Karnataka assembly elections ended on Thursday evening.

Polling for 223 seats of the 224-member Assembly was held on May 12.

Results will be declared on May 15th.

Opinion polls and surveys have projected a close contest with neither BJP nor Congress getting the majority on its own and JD(S) Kumaraswamy playing the "Kingmaker".

Close call in Karnataka

In the last assembly elections in Karnataka 2013, Congress emerged victorious with 122 seats.

Whereas, BJP and JD both secured 40 seats each.

Siddaramaiah took the oath as the new chief minister.

This time however it could be a close contest between the BJP and the Congress.
(Photograph:Zee News Network)