Cabinet reshuffle: 4 ministers elevated to Cabinet rank, nine new ministers

WION Web Team New Delhi Updated: Sep 03, 2017, 03:45 PM(IST)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet is set for a revamp as nine new faces will be sworn-in today. Photograph: ANI


The reshuffle comes in the last leg of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's tenure before the 2019 general elections

The reshuffle comes in the last leg of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's tenure before the 2019 general elections

Sep 03, 2017, 05:35 AM (IST)

Alphons Kannanthanam, former IAS officer who served as the commissioner of Delhi Development Authority, takes oath as minister.




Sep 03, 2017, 05:32 AM (IST)

Satya Pal Singh, a former top cop of Mumbai Police and BJP lawmaker, takes oath as minister.



Sep 03, 2017, 05:29 AM (IST)

R K Singh, who is a BJP lawmaker from Arrah in Bihar and has served as union home secretary, takes oath as minister.



Sep 03, 2017, 05:16 AM (IST)

Union minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi is the fourth member of the council of minister who has been promoted to Cabinet rank.



Sep 03, 2017, 05:14 AM (IST)

Union minister Nirmala Sitharaman promoted, takes oath as Cabinet minister.



Sep 03, 2017, 05:12 AM (IST)

Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan elevated to Cabinet rank, takes oath.



Sep 03, 2017, 05:01 AM (IST)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives for the swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. The Prime Minister has recast his council of ministers with a vision to deliver on the promise of a "New India".  



Sep 03, 2017, 04:57 AM (IST)

Union minister for power, coal, new and renewable Energy with independent charge Piyush Goyal is seen embracing BJP lawmaker from Gwalior Narendra Singh Tomar. Also seen in the frame is Satyapal Singh, a BJP lawmaker and former top cop of Mumbai. Satyapal is one of the nine new ministers to be sworn-in today.



Sep 03, 2017, 04:51 AM (IST)

Along with the induction of new faces in the Union Council of Ministers, some of the ministers are expected to be promoted. With railway minister Suresh Prabhu offering to resign in the wake of a string of train mishaps and Arun Jaitley holding an additional charge of defence ministry after Manohar Parrikar became chief minister of Goa, the question over who will be allocated which portfolio is still uncertain.




Sep 03, 2017, 04:41 AM (IST)

The Prime Minister has chosen four former civil servants to be included in his Council of Ministers. Among them is K J Alphons who is popularly known as Delhi's demolition man as he led the encroachment drive during his stint as Delhi Development Authority commissioner.




Sep 03, 2017, 04:38 AM (IST)

The Janata Dal (United) which formed the government in Bihar with the support of BJP and joined the BJP-led NDA is reportedly not being offered any berths in the Union Council of Ministers. Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar said that he came to know about the reshuffle through media.




Sep 03, 2017, 04:34 AM (IST)

Former union home secretary and BJP lawmaker R K Singh expressed happiness over his inclusion in the council of ministers.



Sep 03, 2017, 04:24 AM (IST)

The Union Cabinet is set to undergo a reshuffle as nine new ministers will be inducted today in a ceremony currently underway at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Six ministers of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led Council of Ministers resigned making way for the new inductees.

Among the new faces, four are former bureaucrats.

Those who will be sworn-in today are Shiv Pratap Shukla from UP, Ashwini Kumar Choubey and RK Singh from Bihar, Virendra Kumar from Madhya Pradesh, Anantkumar Hedge from Karnataka, the former IFS officer Hardeep Singh Puri, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat from Rajasthan, and Satya Pal Singh and Alphons Kannanthaman from Kerala. 


Read in App