IPL 2018: Rana, Russell heroics power Kolkata to victory over Delhi

Nitish Rana and A.Russsell greets each other to built up their partnership during IPL Match against Delhi. Photograph:( PTI )

WION Web Team Kolkata, West Bengal, India Apr 16, 2018, 11.49 PM (IST)

Kolkata marked a simplistic victory against Gautam Gambhir-led Delhi team as Delhi stumbled while chasing the target of 201 runs set by Kolkata on Monday at the Eden Garden Stadium and lost the game by 71 runs.

In such high scoring matches, it is very important that the openers start off well for the team, but in today's outing, Delhi failed miserably as both the opening batsmen did not perform.

Star batsman of the previous match, Jason Roy lost his wicket in the first over itself after scoring just one run. Under-19 star Shivam Mavi out bowled Delhi's skipper Gautam Gambhir in the third over.

Rishabh Pant tried to salvage the innings by pushing the run rate and found a determined ally in Glenn Maxwell but they both lost their wickets after scoring 43 and 47 respectively. Only these two were able to score in double digits.

Mystery spinner Kuldeep Yadav and Sunil Narine were most economical as they took three wickets each and Piyush Chawla, Andre Russell, Shivam Mavi, Tom Curran got one wicket each to dismiss the entire team in fifteenth over itself.

For Kolkata, Chris Lynn contributed well with the bat and scored 31 runs for the team, on the other hand, star batsman Sunil Narine lost his wicket after scoring just one run.

Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik, Andre Russell scored 35, 59, 19 and 41 respectively to push the run rate.

A special mention to Nitish Rana and Andre Russell who scored in the death overs to put up a mammoth total on the board.

Russell played at a strike rate of 341.67 which means, 41 runs off just 12 balls.  His outstanding knock included no fours but 6 sixes. He displayed some extraordinary shots to hit towering sixes at the Eden Gardens.

Also, Rana played few magnificent shots and partnered well with Russell.

Rana received the man of the match award for his outstanding knock.

For Delhi, Trent Bolt and Chris Morris took 2 wickets each and the most economical bowler was Rahul Tewatia who took 3 crucial wickets by giving 18 runs only.