IPL 2018: Match preview of Delhi vs Kolkata

Delhi vs Kolkata. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

WION Web Team Kolkata, West Bengal, India Apr 16, 2018, 03.21 PM (IST)

The thirteenth clash of Indian Premier League 2018 will be between Kolkata and Delhi at the Eden Garden Stadium in a humid temperature (likely to rain) but still, it is expected that it is going to be a full house clash as the support for Kolkata team at their home ground has been immense.

Though, Kolkata lost their previous clash which was against Hyderabad, in which Dinesh Karthik had added under-19 stars Shubnam Gill and Shivam Mavi but they did not do much. They were definitely under pressure but still, no excuses can be made when it comes to performance in a format when like IPL.

The batsmen of Kolkata, Chris Lynn and Robin Uthappa, especially the openers, will have to perform if they wish to win against Delhi because Delhi's bowling strength is massive.

Having led the Kolkata team for seven years, Gautam Gambhir has the advantage as he knows the pitch conditions and atmosphere. Its an emotional homecoming for Gautam also a strange dilemma for Kolkata fans.

Gautam Gambhir-led Delhi recently chased down the total of 194 runs against Mumbai and currently has picked up the pace and will be looking forward to winning against Kolkata to keep up the momentum.

The current playing XI of Delhi is very much sorted but Gambhir might consider swapping Shahbaz Nadeem with any other bowlers such as Jayant Yadav or Amit Mishra or he might just add one more spinner in the place of a pacer.

In the last outing, Jason Roy's innings were outstanding and if he continues the same then any total can be chased.

Though showers are expected at the Eden Garden but let's hope that the 40-overs game goes smoothly.

Playing XI (TBC):

Kolkata: Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Johnson, Shivam Mavi, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav

Delhi: Jason Roy, Gautam Gambhir (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Shreyas Iyer, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Trent Boult