Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections: Bharatiya Janata Party to form new government; SP-Congress, BSP trounced

Bharatiya Janta Party workers celebrate as PM Narendra Modi's party wins by a big margin in the Uttar Pradesh elections. Photograph:( AFP )

WION New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 11, 2017, 02.53 AM (IST)


BJP is slated to sweep Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand. What does this mean for you? (WION)



The Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) bagged the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections winning 312 seats of the state assembly's 403 seats. The BJP's allies won 13 seats bringing their total to 325. The SP-Congress coalition was far behind with 54 seats. Mayawati's BSP won just 19 seats and Others won 18 seats.

PM Modi's campaign manager, Amit Shah, credited the BJP victory to a corruption free and pro-poor administration. He told reporters that the party will discuss who will become the next chief minister of the state on Sunday.


WION analyses BJP's share in the historic Uttar Pradesh mandate (WION)


PM Narendra Modi had campaigned strenuously in Uttar Pradesh especially in the last phase in Varanasi which seems to have been a big factor in BJP's massive win in Uttar Pradesh. In a series of tweets, the Indian prime minister congratulated BJP party cadres and election strategist Amit Shah for the thumping win in Uttar Pradesh.


In response to a congratulatory tweet by Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, PM Modi tweeted, "Thank you. Long live democracy."


Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav has submitted his resignation to Governor Ram Naik who accepted it and asked him to continue till further arrangements. The Samajwadi Party leader said he accepted the verdict of the people and clarified that his party's alliance with the Congress will continue.

"In the entire elections, there were massive crowds in my rallies. I did not expect such a thing will happen. I hope the next government will work better than SP government," he said.

"The people might not have liked my expressway and they voted for the bullet train," he added. "I will do analysis at booth level. I will accept the responsibility after analysing the reasons of the defeat at booth level."

"I would be happy when in the first cabinet meeting of BJP, loans of farmers are waived," he said.

Thanking the people of Jaswant Nagar for ensuring his victory, Akhilesh's uncle Shivpal Yadav also said he would accept the mandate of the people.



BSP chief Mayawati blamed the EVM machines for the party's defeat, she declared,"Either the EVMs did not accept votes other than BJP, or the votes of other parties have gone to BJP in the EVMs." 

"Most votes in Muslim majority constituencies have gone to BJP,  makes it evident that voting machines were manipulated," Mayawati declared. 

Gorakhpur BJP MP Adityanath said people have rejected the SP-Congress alliance in a big way. The BJP MP added that it was a "vote for development" even as BJP workers started celebrating as the initial results came in.

WION brings you scenes of victory at the BJP HQ in Delhi and more. (WION)




Counting of votes for the high-stakes assembly elections 2017 in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur got underway early this morning. Various exit polls had predicted a big win for the BJP in Uttar Pradesh, however, it seems the BJP is set for a bigger win than any exit poll predicted in the last two days.

Bharatiya Janta Party(BJP) opened with a big lead early morning when initial reports started coming leading in 176 seats with the SP-Congress alliance far behind leading in 58 seats. 





  • delete