National no-fly rule to be out in July: Civil aviation minister Jayant Sinha

MoS for civil aviation Jayant Sinha wants unified security command for airports Photograph:( DNA )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Jun 20, 2017, 11.06 AM (IST)

Minister of State (MoS) for civil aviation Jayant Sinha has decided to issue a national no-fly list in the first week of July after the controversy over TDP MP J C Diwakar Reddy &  Shiv Sena MP Ravindra Gaikwad who were denied boarding rights by various airlines for creating a ruckus on board.

"A national no-fly list rules is currently being prepared and will be issued in first week of July," Sinha said. 

The ministry of civil aviation had last month issued draft rules for a national no-fly list and invited stakeholders' comments within 30 days.

"The process is underway right now, as we have said many times we are going through an analysis process and those recommendations are in front of the Cabinet right now and the Cabinet will take the process forward," Jayant Sinha added.

Jayant Sinha also said his ministry is working to create a "unified security command" to manage airports in the country which would be handled by the Central Industrial Security Force(CISF).

"We want a unified command to be able to keep all of the airports under supervision through a robust set of security protocols. So unified security architecture is a major policy initiative that we have embarked on with the ministry of home affairs,'' said Jayant Sinha.

Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai & Kolkata are amongst the busiest airports in India, there is a sizeable CISF presence already in these airports, however, with a unified structure in place, the CISF would be expected to take over the entire security and other administrative duties linked with airport security in the country.

  • delete