Skip to main content

India byelection results: BJP wins bypolls in five assembly seats, Congress wins two seats in Karnataka

The Delhi bypoll is a litmus test for the Aam Aadmi Party government which had won 67 of the 70 seats in the Delhi Assembly in the 2015 elections. (Representative image) Photograph: (Reuters)

WION Delhi, India Apr 13, 2017, 04.58 AM (IST)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won bypolls in five assembly seats out of the ten for which counting started Thursday morning.

BJP candidate Ranoj Pegu won the Dhemaji assembly by-election in Assam defeating his nearest Congress rival Babul Sonowal by 9,285 votes. While the BJP candidate polled 75,217 votes, his Congress rival garnered 65,932 votes. BJP candidate Shobha Rani Kushwah won Rajasthan's Dholpur assembly bypoll, defeating Congress's Banwari Lal Sharma by around 39,000 votes.

In New Delhi, BJP-SAD candidate, Manjinder Singh Sirsa, registered a huge victory over his opponents in the Rajouri Garden bypoll. He polled 40,602 votes, over 50% of the total votes polled. The AAP candidate came a distant third polling 10,243 votes and lost the deposit, DNA reported. Congress candidate Meenakshi Chandela finished second with 25,950 votes. 




The contest was being closely watched as the AAP had won 67 of the 70 seats in the Delhi Assembly in the 2015 elections.

Bharatiya Janata Party's Anil Dhiman has won the Bhoranj assembly seat in Himachal Pradesh by more than 8,000 votes, ANI reported.

Meanwhile, Congress won both seats in Karnataka much to the relief of party cadres and the Congress high command which has been facing a string of defeats since the Lok Sabha polls in 2014.

Congress party’s Kalale Keshavamurthy defeated BJP’s V Srinivas Prasad by a margin of 21,334 votes while Geetha Mahadev Prasad won the Gundlupet seat beating her BJP rival Niranjan Kumar by 10,887 votes.

In Madhya Pradesh, bypolls were held in two assembly constituencies of Ater and Bandhavgarh, BJP's Shivnarayan Singh won from Bandhavgarh.

Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress candidate, Chandrima Bhattacharya, won from West Bengal's Kanthi Dakshin seat. 

Bypolls were held in the states of Rajasthan, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Delhi, and Assam. By-election was also held in Srinagar Parliamentary constituency on Sunday but due to widespread violence which led to the killing of eight people, the Election Commission ordered repolling in 38 polling stations on Thursday. 




Show Comments
  • delete