Goa Assembly Elections: Congress edges BJP, CM Laxmikant Parsekar loses

BJP chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar is trailing against Congress candidate Dayanand Sopte in Mandrem constituency (ANI Twittter) Photograph:( Others )

WION New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 11, 2017, 04.30 AM (IST)

Congress has edged out BJP in a see-saw battle winning 15 seats and is still leading in 2 seats. BJP has won 13 seats and Others have won 10 seats.

Initial poll trends saw the Congress and the BJP in a neck-and-neck battle in India's western state of Goa.

But the big upset in the tiny state of Goa was that of its chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar who lost to Congress' Dayanand Sopte in Mandrem constituency.

Parsekar was visibly upset and did not address the media.

As of 1.35 pm (Indian Standard Time), BJP had won seven seats and Congress had won eight. 


Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar loses his seat to Dayanand Sopte and more (WION)


In the previous state election held in 2012, the BJP had won a majority with 21 seats followed by the Congress with nine seats.

Former Goa chief minister Congressman Digambar Kamat, who won from Margao constituency credited his party workers for the victory.

Talking to media men after his win, Kamat said, "the BJP-led government tried to harass me. They filed fake cases against me. They tried to jail me. Only God protected me."


Counting of votes for the high- stakes assembly elections in UP, Punjab, Manipur, Goa & Uttarkhand have begun. Here's the latest update and ground-report analysis. (WION)