BJP wins floor test in Manipur

Biren Singh was unanimously elected leader of the BJP legislature party in Manipur on March 13. Photograph:( DNA )

WION India Mar 20, 2017, 06.39 AM (IST)

BJP's Manipur chief minister Nongthombam Biren Singh won the floor test in the Assembly today, reports said.

Biren Singh won floor test with the support of 32 of the total 60 MLAs in the Manipur Assembly, media reports said. Nongthombam Biren Singh had taken oath as the chief minister of Manipur on March 16 along with eight other ministers.

Governor Najma Heptullah had invited the BJP, which won 21 seats in the 60-seat Manipur Assembly, to form the government last week.

Yumnam Khemchand Singh of the BJP was elected as the new Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly.

Khemchand, a legislator from Singjamei constituency, was elected Speaker by voice vote when the House assembled in the morning ahead of the floor test.