Skip to main content

5 WhatsApp features, we bet, you didn?t know about

Owned by Facebook, WhatsApp is the most popular instant messenger in India. Photograph: (WION)

WION New Delhi, Delhi, India Apr 17, 2017, 08.17 AM (IST) Ankit Tuteja

You may be sleeping, eating, enjoying, relaxing or, for that matter, living your life on WhatsApp, but chances are that you are still a little away from delving into the instant messenger. And if you disagree with us and believe that, by now, you have mastered each and everything about WhatsApp, we bring you 5 features to check out. Because we doubt that you already knew about them, but did you?


1. Number of people in WhatsApp group: You may be pretty active on WhatsApp and could be part of several WhatsApp groups - probably, with responsible admins of a lot of them, but there is one thing about these groups that we doubt you were aware of. And it's nothing but the number of participants that can be part of a WhatsApp group. As the company says, you can only add up to 256 people in a WhatsApp group - a limit that was set to 100 till last year.


2. File size limit: You may be exchanging a plethora of documents and other files with your contacts on WhatsApp, but did you know about the file size limit that the instant messenger has set for sending documents, contacts and other media? According to WhatsApp, users can’t send files more than 100MB in size.


3. Deactivation and deletion are different: Deactivating your WhatsApp account doesn’t mean that your friends or other contacts can’t send you messages, anymore. While your account is deactivated, your name still appears if your friends/contacts search for you. People on WhatsApp can still send you messages, which will remain in a pending state for up to 30 days. In other words, deactivation and deletion are two different things. So, when your account is deactivated, it is not completely deleted. Therefore, when you reactivate your account before it is deleted, you will receive pending messages on your phone and you will be part of all of your group chats.


4. A hidden clause: We all know that group chats (as well as individual chats) can be put to mute to avoid getting disturbed by notifications and constant stream of conversations happening there. But did you know about this limitation of the mute setting in groups? The mute setting can be overridden in groups if you are specifically mentioned there - except for if you have muted the sender in your individual chat too.


5. Everything has limits: If you are wondering why you can’t see who all have viewed your WhatsApp Status, while your other friends can, remember that it’s to do with a setting that you must have disabled a long time ago - Read Receipts. If you have disabled Read Receipts on your WhatsApp, you will not be able to keep a track of who all have checked your status updates on WhatsApp - a feature heavily influenced by Snapchat Stories.

 

(WION)

Show Comments
  • delete