Skip to main content

Five states get new governors

Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, and Meghalaya got new governors. In photo: New Arunachal governor Brig (Retd) BD Mishra. Photograph: (ANI)

ANI New Delhi, Delhi, India Sep 30, 2017, 11.56 AM (IST)

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed five new governors on Saturday with Brig (Dr) BD Mishra (Retd) taking over as governor of Arunachal Pradesh.

Banwarilal Purohit was appointed governor of Tamil Nadu, and Satya Pal Malik as governor of Bihar.

Professor Jagdish Mukhi was appointed governor of Assam, and Ganga Prasad governor of Meghalaya. 

In addition, Admiral (Retd) DK Joshi was made lieutenant governor of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. 

Show Comments
  • delete