Mecca Masjid blast verdict: All 5 accused including Swami Aseemanand acquitted by NIA court

File photo of Aseemanand. Photograph:( Others )

WION Web Team Hyderabad, India Apr 16, 2018, 12.23 PM (IST)

A special National Investigation Agency (NIA) court in Hyderabad today acquitted all five accused in the 2007 Mecca Masjid explosion allegedly carried out by a group of right-wing terrorists.

The Mecca Masjid explosion took place on May 18, 2007 inside a mosque located in old Hyderabad, the capital of Telangana state.

Nine people lost their lives in the blast and 58 were injured.

The case was transferred to the Central Bureau of Investigation after an initial probe by the local police.

The NIA took over the case from the CBI in 2011. At that time, 10 persons allegedly belonging to right-wing organisations were named as accused. However, only five of them were arrested and faced trial in the case.

The accused arrested are - Devendra Gupta, Lokesh Sharma, Swami Aseemanand, Bharat Mohanlal Rateshwar and Rajendra Chowdhary.

Two other accused- Sandeep V Dange and Ramchandra Kalsangra- are absconding, while one of the accused, Sunil Joshi of Madhya Pradesh, was murdered while the case was being investigated.

(With inputs from ANI)