Test cricket: India beat Bangladesh by 208 runs

India's captain Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja celebrate the wicket of Bangladesh's Mehedi Hasan Miraz on the fifth day of the Test match between India and Bangladesh. Photograph:( AFP )

WION New Delhi, Delhi, India Feb 13, 2017, 09.06 AM (IST)

India beat Bangladesh by 208 runs to win the one-off Test at Hyderabad on the fifth and final day on Monday.

Set an unlikely victory target of 459, Bangladesh were dismissed for 250 shortly after the scheduled tea break.

India spin duo Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin picked up four wickets each to take India to victory.

Bangladesh did show resistance, batting over 100 overs but scoreboard pressure coupled with concerted bowling by the Indians made their hard work go in vain.

Ashwin, who in his 45th Test had become the fastest bowler to claim 250 Test wickets on Sunday, trapped Taskin Ahmed lbw to complete the win as an umpire referral put India's celebrations on hold.

The lanky off-spinner got first innings centurion Mushfqur Rahim (23) in the morning session to dent Bangladesh's hopes of saving the match.

Earlier in the first session, Jadeja dismissed star batsman Shakib Al Hasan (22), who added just one run to his overnight score.

Mahmudullah then put on fighting partnerships with Rahim and Sabbir Rahman to resist the Indian attack on what still seemed to be a decent batting track.

India had bowled out Bangladesh for 388 in their second innings and decided to build on their 299-run lead after not enforcing the follow-on.

Ninth-ranked Bangladesh were always left playing catch-up after the hosts posted a mammoth 687-6 declared in their first innings.

Skipper Virat Kohli, who won his sixth successive Test series as captain, led the way with his blazing 204 after the hosts elected to bat first.

The 28-year-old became the first batsman to score double centuries in four consecutive series, surpassing legends like Don Bradman and Rahul Dravid.

Indian batting reined supreme against an inexperienced Bangladesh bowling attack with the innings witnessing four centuries and three 50s.

India maintained their unbeaten record against the minnows with seven wins and two draws in nine encounters.

India are now scheduled to host Australia in a four-match Test series starting February 23 in Pune.

Final scoreboard: 

India 687-6 dec (V. Kohli 204, M. Vijay 108; T. Islam 3-156)

Bangladesh 1st innings 388 (M. Rahim 127, Shakib Al Hasan 82; U. Yadav 3-84)

India 2nd innings 159-4 dec (C. Pujara 54 not not; Shakib Al Hasan 2-50)

Bangladesh 2nd innings (target 459; overnight 103-3, Mahmudullah 9 not out, Shakib Al Hasan 21 not out)

Tamim Iqbal c Kohli b Ashwin             3

Soumya Sarkar c Rahane b Jadeja         42

Mominul Haque c Rahane b Ashwin         27

Mahmudullah c Kumar b Sharma            64

Shakib Al Hasan c Pujara b Jadeja       22

Mushfiqur Rahim c Jadeja b Ashwin       23

Sabbir Rahman lbw b Sharma              22

Mehedi Hasan c Saha b Jadeja            23

Kamrul Islam Rabbi not out               3

Taijul Islam c Rahul b Jadeja            6

Taskin Ahmed lbw b Ashwin                1

Extras (b 4, lb 7, nb 3)                14                           

Total (all out; 100.3 overs)           250

Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Iqbal), 2-71 (Sarkar), 3-75 (Haque), 4-106 (Shakib), 5-162 (Rahim), 6-213 (Rahman), 7-225 (Mahmudullah), 8-242 (Hasan), 9-249 (Taijul), 10-250 (Ahmed)

Bowling: Kumar 8-4-15-0, Ashwin 30.3-10-73-4, Sharma 13-3-40-2 (3nb), Yadav 12-2-33-0, Jadeja 37-15-78-4

Toss: India

Result: India win by 208 runs

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA) and Joel Wilson (WIS)

TV umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM) 

(WION with inputs from AFP)