Skip to main content

ICC names Mithali Raj as captain of Women's World Cup 2017 team

Mithali Raj was previously selected for the ICC Women's World Cup team in 2009. Photograph: (DNA)

WION Web Team Dubai - United Arab Emirates Jul 24, 2017, 04.29 PM (IST)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday named Team India skipper Mithali Raj as the captain of the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 team. 

Mithali, 34, was chosen as captain of the Women’s World Cup XI after she led India to the final of the just-concluded ICC Women's World Cup.

Cricketers Harmanpreet Kaur and Deepti Sharma are the other two Indians who are a part of the ICC squad.

India lost to England by a mere nine runs in the nailbiting finals at the Lord's Stadium in London. 

The tournament XI  includes four players from England, player of the tournament Tamsin Beaumont, player of the final Anya Shrubsole, wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor and left-arm spinner Alex Hartley; three from South Africa, opener Laura Wolvaardt and bowlers Marizanne Kapp and Dane van Niekerk; and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry.

Mithali, Taylor and Shrubsole have been picked in the Team of the Tournament for the second time in their careers.

England's Natalie Sciver, who scored 369 runs and took seven wickets, was selected as the 12th player. 

Mithali scored 409 runs during the 30-day ICC Women's World Cup tournament. Her best was 109 runs in the virtual quarter-final against New Zealand in Derby, enabling India to reach the semifinals with a 186-run win.

Her other notable scores in the tournament were 71 against England in the tournament opener in Derby, 46 against the West Indies in Taunton, 53 against Sri Lanka in Derby and 69 against Australia in Bristol. 

Mithali and Taylor were selected in the Team of the ICC Women's World Cup in 2009. England won the 2009 tournament in Sydney. Shrubsole was named in the Team of the ICC Women's World Cup 2013, won by Australia.

Show Comments
  • delete